Discover some of our activities to develop reading comprehension

We know that the main objective of reading is to gain access to the meaning of written texts. Reading is therefore more than the simple identification of written words. It is also an interactive process of constructing meaning between the reader, the text and the context. The quality of this interaction depends on the reader's ability to effectively use a set of strategies.

This is why the explicit teaching of reading strategies is essential. In fact, it would appear that explicit instruction is the intervention having the most positive effects on reading comprehension. The explicit teaching process includes modeling, guided or guided practice, and independent practice. The modeling stage promotes understanding of the learning objective in the students. Guided (or supervised) practice allows them to adjust and put into practice their learning through interactions with the teacher and their peers. Independent practice provides them with the learning opportunities they need to master and consolidate their learning.

Literacy Reading Comprehension activities are always fun and engaging and aim to support your explicit teaching approach and are designed to facilitate the use of children's literature for literacy teaching and learning. Most of the reading comprehension activities offered begin with reading a book of the student's choice. Students first read books of their own choosing, which match their tastes, interests and level of reading skills. Then, they get together to experience the activities. The proposed activities can therefore be carried out by reading any children's literature book in order to respect the choices of the pupils and to facilitate pedagogical differentiation. They aim to allow students to share their ideas and opinions on the texts read and thus improve their comprehension, all in a situation of verbal interaction, generally without paper or pencil. In addition, to further facilitate pedagogical differentiation, many of the printable activities include an editable pdf version, which the teacher can adapt according to the intended learning objectives and the needs of the students.

Learn more: The role of oral communication in the development of reading comprehension

The role of oral communication in the development of reading comprehension

The link between learning written language (reading and writing) and learning oral language has been well established by research for nearly 40 years. In addition to having recourse to the processes allowing to identify the written words, the pupil constructs the meaning of the texts read by relying on the knowledge which he has of the oral language.

Planning learning activities that integrate opportunities to communicate orally about the readings (questioning, exchanges, discussion), both during guided practice and during independent practice, allows students to put into practice the strategies taught.

To do this, it is suggested to plan learning activities that allow, among other things, students to ...

- Make reference to texts already read in order to help the pupils to activate their previous knowledge to facilitate the comprehension of a new text.

- Make predictions on texts before and during reading

- Exchange and discuss and ask questions that encourage students to think critically about the content of the text.

- Read a wide variety of texts that serve a variety of purposes (eg, cookbooks, instruction manuals, maps, information texts, literature, etc.).

- Establish links between a given text and other books, their knowledge and / or their experience.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Books and Activities work with the most recent versions of Google Chrome and Apple Safari browsers. For iPad tablets, a version of iOS 10.3.2, or higher, is required for proper operation.

Découvrez quelques-unes de nos activités pour développer la compréhension en lecture

On sait que l’objectif principal de la lecture est d’accéder au sens des textes écrits. La lecture est donc plus que la simple identification de mots écrits. Elle est aussi un processus interactif de construction de sens entre le lecteur, le texte et le contexte. La qualité de cette interaction dépend de la capacité du lecteur à utiliser efficacement un ensemble de stratégies.

C’est pourquoi l’enseignement explicite des stratégies de lecture s’avère essentiel. De fait, il semblerait que l’enseignement explicite soit l’intervention ayant le plus d’effets positifs sur la compréhension en lecture. La démarche d’enseignement explicite inclut le modelage, la pratique guidée ou dirigée, et la pratique autonome. L’étape du modelage favorise la compréhension de l’objectif d’apprentissage chez les élèves.  La pratique guidée (ou dirigée) leur permet d’ajuster et de mettre en pratique leurs apprentissages grâce aux interactions avec l’enseignant et leurs pairs.  La pratique autonome leur fournit les occasions d’apprentissage nécessaires à la maîtrise et à la consolidation des apprentissages.

 

Les activités de compréhension de lecture Littératout sont toujours ludiques et engageantes et visent à appuyer votre démarche d'enseignement explicite et sont conçues pour faciliter l’utilisation de la littérature jeunesse pour l’enseignement et l’apprentissage de la littératie. La plupart des activités de compréhension de lecture proposées débutent avec la lecture d'un livre au choix de l'élève. Les élèves lisent d’abord des livres qu'ils ont eux-mêmes choisis, qui correspondent à leurs goûts, leurs intérêts et leur niveau de compétence en lecture. Ensuite, ils se regroupent pour vivre les activités. Les activités proposées peuvent donc être réalisées à partir de la lecture de n’importe quel livre de littérature jeunesse afin de respecter les choix des élèves et de faciliter la différenciation pédagogique. Elles visent à permettre aux élèves de partager leurs idées et leurs opinions sur les textes lus et ainsi de bonifier leur compréhension, le tout en situation d’interaction verbale, généralement sans papier ni crayon. De plus, pour faciliter encore davantage la différenciation pédagogique, plusieurs des activités imprimables incluent une version en format pdf modifiable, que l'enseignant peut adapter en fonction des objectifs d'apprentissage visés et ds besoins des élèves.
 

En savoir plus: Le rôle de la communication orale dans le développement de la compréhension écrite

Pour en savoir plus...

Participez à notre webinaire GRATUIT intitulé Favoriser la compréhension en lecture. Cliquez ci-dessous pour connaitre la prochaine date de ce webinaire, pour tous les détails et pour vous inscrire.

Afficher plus...
 

Le rôle de la communication orale dans le développement de la compréhension écrite

Le lien entre que l’apprentissage du langage écrit (lecture et écriture) et l’apprentissage du langage oral est bien établi par la recherche depuis près de 40 ans. En plus d’avoir recours aux processus permettant d’identifier les mots écrits, l’élève construit le sens des textes lus en s’appuyant sur les connaissances qu’il possède de la langue orale.
 

Planifier des activités d’apprentissage qui intègrent des occasions de communiquer oralement sur les lectures (questionnement, échanges, discussion), tant lors de la pratique guidée que lors de la pratique autonome, permet aux élèves de mettre en pratique les stratégies enseignées.
 

Pour ce faire, il est suggéré de planifier des activités d’apprentissage qui permettent, entre autres, aux élèves de …
 

- Faire référence à des textes déjà lus afin d’aider les élèves à activer leurs connaissances antérieures pour faciliter la compréhension d’un nouveau texte.

- Faire des prédictions sur les textes avant et pendant la lecture

 

- Échanger et discuter et se poser des questions qui incitent les élèves à faire preuve de pensée critique par rapport au contenu du texte.
 

- Lire des textes très variés servant à de nombreuses fins (p. ex. livres de recettes, manuels d’instructions, cartes, textes d’information, littérature, etc.).

- Établir des liens entre un texte donné et d’autres livres, leurs connaissances et/ ou leur expérience.

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon