PROPOSE MINI CHALLENGES TO YOUR READERS!

Suggest that your students and their parents take up the mini reading challenges. Click here to download an information leaflet to send home.


We suggest seven mini reading challenges for your students to stimulate their interest and motivation to read every day. The challenges are optional! Let your students decide if they want to take on one or more of the challenges offered and let them choose the challenges that suit them!

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

DUO READING

Duet reading is done with a model reader, whose reading is fluid, which is paired with a less experienced reader. Each student reads a book of their choice. You can read the same book or a different book. The model reader begins: he reads a passage from the book while his partner listens and follows the reading. The partner then reads a passage from the book while the model reader listens, follows the reading, and supports the partner as needed.

POPCORN READING

When playing popcorn, students get into groups of two or three. Each student reads a book of their choice. You can read the same book or a different book. The partners take turns reading aloud. Whoever reads says “popcorn to…” and chooses a friend to continue reading.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

THE PARROT READING

When reading parrot, students get into groups of two and read a book together. The first student reads a sentence or a short passage from the book. Then, his partner rereads the same sentence or the same passage, making sure to reproduce the flow and the intonations heard.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

LISTENING AND TELLING

The student listens to a book reading. This book can be listened to in audio or be read to it by a reader, it does not matter, as long as the student listens to the reading. Then, the pupil tells the text heard. If desired, he can use the pictures in the book to help himself.

READING TO A YOUNGER (OR OLDER)

When reading to a younger or older one, it will mean reading to a little or big brother, a little or big sister, a friend or a friend of a class of younger or a class of older. Students will be able to read a book of their choice. Students will be able to read the selected books first in order to practice reading aloud.

 

SINGING READING

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

When reading sung, the pupil first reads a book of his choice, then he read that book again, this time singing the words and the sentences. He can choose a style such as opera, rap, etc. If desired, he can read using a familiar tune or simply invent a tune of his choice. Singing reading is a good way to work on fluency.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

READING BOOKMARK

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

The reading bookmark is an original way for students to express their reactions and appreciation of a book they have read. Bookmarks also allow young readers to share their reactions with their classmates which helps to arouse the interest of other students in certain books. T he proposed bookmarks have a front and a back: the first page of the document is the front and the second page is the back. Click here to download bookmarks.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

OTHER IDEAS TO REINVEST AND FULLY USE THE READINGS
 

1- Invite the students to read to younger ones; your class can pair up with a class of little ones and read books to them. If necessary, your students can practice by reading the album one or more times before meeting their reading partners. This will count for the contest and in addition, your students help make children love reading.

2- Offer a reader's theater to your students. They must then reread certain passages from the books they have read several times and make a little sketch of it. At the same time, this allows you to work on oral communication.

3- Suggest that your pupils do a serial reading to another class or to classmates: the pupils therefore read aloud, 5 to 15 minutes a day, a little novel or an illustrated mini-novel, which they they will have read beforehand to know the story well.

4- Organize reading circles: each student chooses one or more passages from a book read beforehand. The pupils meet in a reading circle. They read and discuss the chosen passage (s), explaining, for example, why they liked that passage, what they thought about the actions of the characters in that passage, what they noticed about the style of the passage. the author, etc.

5- The preceding ideas can also be applied at home: for example, the pupil can read to a younger brother or sister, he can do a serial reading to his family, even a reader's theater with a parent or sibling.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

PROPOSEZ DES MINI DÉFIS À VOS LECTEURS!

 

Proposez à vos élèves et à leurs parents de relever les mini défis de lecture. Cliquez ici pour télécharger un feuillet informatif à envoyer à la maison.


Nous vous suggérons sept mini défis de lecture à proposer à vos élèves afin de mousser leur intérêt et leur motivation à lire chaque jour. Les défis sont facultatifs! Laissez vos élèves décider s'ils souhaitent relever un ou plusieurs des défis proposés et laissez-les choisir les défis qui leur conviennent!

LA LECTURE EN DUO
 

La lecture en duo se fait avec un lecteur modèle, dont la lecture est fluide, qui se jumelle avec un lecteur moins expérimenté. Chaque élève lit un livre de son choix. On peut lire le même livre ou un livre différent. Le lecteur modèle commence : il lit un passage du livre pendant que son partenaire écoute et suit la lecture. Ensuite, le partenaire lit à son tour un passage du livre pendant que le lecteur modèle écoute, suit la lecture et appuie son partenaire au besoin.

LA LECTURE POPCORN
 

Lors de la lecture popcorn, les élèves se placent en groupes de deux ou trois. Chaque élève lit un livre de son choix. On peut lire le même livre ou un livre différent. Les partenaires lisent à voix haute en alternance, chacun son tour. Celui qui lit dit « popcorn à… » et choisit un camarade pour continuer la lecture.


 

LA LECTURE PERROQUET
 

Lors de la lecture perroquet, les élèves se placent en groupes de deux et lisent ensemble un livre. Le premier élève lit une phrase ou un court passage du livre. Ensuite, son partenaire relit cette même phrase ou ce même passage en s'assurant de bien reproduire le débit et les intonations entendues.

ÉCOUTE ET RACONTE
 

L'élève écoute la lecture d'un livre. Ce livre peut être écouté en audio ou lui être lu par un lecteur, peu importe, dans la mesure où l'élève écoute la lecture. Ensuite, l'élève raconte le texte entendu. Il peut si désiré, utiliser les images du livre pour s'aider.

 

LECTURE À UN PLUS JEUNE (OU UN PLUS VIEUX)
 

Lors de la lecture à un plus jeune ou un plus vieux, il s'agira de lire à un petit ou grand frère, une petite ou grande sœur, un ami ou une amie d’une classe de plus jeunes ou d'une classe de plus vieux. Les élèves pourront lire un livre de leur choix. Les élèves pourront lire d'abord les livres choisis afin de se pratiquer à bien lire à voix haute.

 

LECTURE CHANTÉE

Lors de la lecture chantée, l'élève lit d'abord un livre de son choix, Ensuite, il lire ce livre de nouveau, cette fois en chantant les mots et les phrases. Il pourra choisir un style tel que l'opéra, le rap, etc. Il pourra si désiré lire en utilisant un air connu ou inventer simplement un air de son choix. La lecture chantée est une bonne façon de travailler la fluidité.

SIGNET DE LECTURE

Le signet de lecture est une façon originale pour l'élève d’exprimer ses réactions et son appréciation d’un livre lu. Les signets permettent également aux jeunes lecteurs de partager leurs réactions avec leurs camarades de classe ce qui contribue à éveiller l’intérêt des autres élèves pour certains livres. Les signets proposés comportent un recto et un verso: la première page du document constitue le recto et la deuxième page, le verso. Cliquez ici pour télécharger les signets.

D’AUTRES IDÉES POUR RÉINVESTIR ET EXPLOITER PLEINEMENT LES LECTURES
 

1- Invitez les élèves à lire à des plus jeunes; votre classe peut se jumeler à une classe de petits et leur lire des albums. Au besoin, vos élèves pourront se pratiquer en lisant une ou plusieurs fois l'album avant de rencontrer leurs partenaires de lecture. Cela va compter pour le concours et en plus, vos élèves contribuent à faire aimer la lecture aux petits.
 

2- Proposez un théâtre de lecteurs à vos élèves. Ils doivent alors relire plusieurs fois certains passages des livres lus et en faire une petite saynète. Cela permet en même temps de travailler la communication orale.

3- Proposez à vos élèves de faire une lecture en feuilleton à une autre classe ou à des camarades de classe: les élèves lisent donc à voix haute, 5 à 15 minutes par jour, un petit roman ou un mini-roman illustré, qu'ils auront lu au préalable pour bien connaître l'histoire.

 

4- Organisez des cercles de lecture: chaque élève choisit un ou plusieurs passages d'un livre lu au préalable. Les élèves se rencontrent en cercle de lecture. Ils font la lecture du ou des passages choisis et en discutent, en expliquant, par exemple, pourquoi ils ont aimé ce passage, ce qu'ils ont pensé des actions des personnages dans ce passage, ce qu'ils ont remarqué quant au style de l'auteur, etc.
 

5- Les idées précédentes peuvent aussi s'appliquer à la maison: par exemple, l'élève peut faire la lecture à un frère ou une soeur plus jeune, il peut faire une lecture en feuilleton à sa famille, même un théâtre de lecteur avec un parent ou un frère ou soeur.


 

© Tous droits réservés. Littératout propulsé par Thinkscape de Enable Education.

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon